Help with Sword Identification

Hi all,

I'm very new to all this and apologize first up if I make some basic mistakes.

I have recently received my grandfather's (what I presume to be) WW2 Japanese sword that he obtained whilst serving with the British Navy. From some of my basic research I think it is a late war Gunto mount. (Once again apologies if this is way off the mark!)

I am looking for info in regard to the sword as I was unable to ask my Pop before he passed as I didn't even know he had the sword.

Any information is much appreciated!

I have attached some photos.

If you require some specific photos let me know and I'll do my best!

Regards
Dave

AttachmentSize
img_20160207_233330.jpg1.64 MB
img_20160207_232417.jpg1.2 MB
img_20160207_232443.jpg1.27 MB
img_20160207_232513.jpg1.28 MB
img_20160207_232543.jpg1.47 MB
img_20160207_232818.jpg1.29 MB
img_20160207_232832.jpg1.64 MB
img_20160207_232911.jpg1.75 MB

gunto

Hi Dave,
What I see:
Gunto, probably Army (one hanger on the scabbard; Navy usually has two).
Leather-covered saya (scabbard). Probably wood underneath.
Simple iron tsuba (handguard), "mokko" shape. A little better than the more common cast-brass type found on most gunto.
Very likely made 1940-1945.
Blade is in rough condition, including a good-sized chip on the edge.
The "surrender tag" is a nice thing to have. I believe it names the soldier who carried it (his name is "Omura-something"), and maybe his unit (the first part says "Navy"-something). I'll have my wife look at it and report back.
The signature on the blade is readable, but I'll need a bit of help with that, too. I lot of these wartime signatures are very "choppy" (like bad handwriting).

Pete

Katsumasa

The signature is:
NOuSHUu (?) KOJIMA KATSUMASA SAKU".

Noshu is a province, modern-day Gifu.
Not sure what the (?) is, but it's not important... It might be a crude form of SEKI.
Kojima is a family name - probably the smith's real name.
Katsumasa is the smith's "art name".