Restoration

Hello again all, (and thank you again Stan)

Any recommendations as to where to get the sword restored?

http://nihontoclub.com/discussions/2012/12/31/Wakizashi-tang-translation

This I am sure will be an endeavor; swords worth, verses cost to restore, verses worth after restoration, etc.

Thank you.

restoration

This is potentially a very nice blade. In my opinion, you should work with one of the "brokers" to have it polished in Japan. It will be expensive, and it will take a long time (perhaps a year before the blade is returned to you). Stay FAR AWAY from any self-taught 'polishers', which includes almost all polishers outside of Japan.
But first, consider carefully why you want to restore it. Just to increase the re-sale value? Does that mean you will sell it? If not, is it worth restoring it?
You should have it studied (in person) by someone with enough experience to say if polishing is a good idea for the health of the blade. If the blade is "tired", another polish may expose flaws that were hidden. Or if the blade has fire damage, or any sort of crack, or large chips...
Be sure you understand all of the costs and risks of polishing.

Pete

Thanks Pete! What I mean

Thanks Pete!

What I mean is;
The blade is worth W.
Costs X to restore. (plus time)
But purchasing one already restored cost Y.
And Y is half or double the cost of X.
Or after restoration the value becomes Z instead of the original W and there is or is not a significant difference between W and Z.

Then, that becomes a choice of how much this particular blade means to my wife.

How is that?

Thank you Pete

saipan59 wrote:

Pete

What do "you" think we should do? Or where should we start?

first step

The first step is to have it examined by an experienced collector, to evaluate the quality and condition. The goal is to identify any problems that would say that a polish is a bad investment.