Introduction and Help With Identification

Hello everyone. First I would like to introduce myself. My name is Ian Young from South Carolina, US. I am new to nihonto collecting and became interested due to my involvement in Kendo (among other arts such as Aikido and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu). This site has an excellent database that has proven very helpful to me and I am happy to now be a part of the forum.

I recently purchased a wakizashi blade in shirasaya from a Japanese exporter. The signature appears to read Kanenaga. The dealer suggested that the time period was from Tenmon era and that there may be a possible connection to a Kanemitsu (father of Kanenaga?) from the Seki/Mino School. I know the blade is not perfect, but I basically would like to know more about the possible history of the sword. Any of your insights based on the attached pics would be very helpful (I apologize if files are big, I am learning). Thank you for your time.

Ian

AttachmentSize
kanenaga_1.doc1.51 MB
kanenaga_2.doc1.88 MB
kanenaga_3.doc1.24 MB

Nice pix!

Nice job with the pictures!
Some general comments:
Your blade is "suriage", meaning "shortened". You can tell because:
- The tang is squared-off on the end.
- There is an extra hole in the tang.
- The signature is too close to the end of the tang.
None of this is a problem, it's just a 'feature'. It was originally perhaps a couple of inches longer.
Your blade is somewhat "tired", meaning that it has been polished a number of times. You can tell because:
- The "hamachi" is small - the little step where the sharp edge meets the tang.
- The blade is a bit wider at the hamachi compared to the area 3-4" above the hamachi. The polisher tries to avoid completely removing the hamachi, but needed to remove metal on the main part of the blade.
I would NOT recommend getting this blade polished, because:
- It is somewhat tired. More polishing takes a great risk of exposing more defects, and losing the overall shape.