Need Comments on the smiths

I am very new to the hobby and I have been reading on Nihoto to gain knowldege. I am thinking of getting my first real Sinto Nihonto Katana and with a budget between Yen 600,000 - 850,000.

I have streamlined to three makers from a internet web page and all three come with the NBTHK Tokubetsu Hozon papers. Despite readings the history of the makers, how do one decide?

1. Omi No Kami Tsuguhira or
  2. bichiyu_no_kami yasuhiro](2 generations)(ohsaka ishidou wazamono)
  3. musashitarou yasukuni] (sintou jou-saku)

Thanks for your enlightenment.

Which do you like?

I think it would need to come down to which sword do you like the most? There are other people on this forum who could probably tell you which looks like the better blade, but all three are different with their own character. Without being able to see and handle them you can only go on the photos. So my advice would be to go for the blade that speaks to you, and to a lesser extent the koshirae (since that's part of what you would be paying for).

Hi Francis, It's probably

Hi Francis,

It's probably going to sound like a very unhelpful advice, but if you don't know which smith to go for, don't buy any swords just yet and better invest into few more books. When you are buying a sword, the main question is not 'which one' but 'why'. And if you don't have an answer just yet, don't go for it, or you may be disappointed later and end up with a sword you don't like and it can be hard to sell. While if you know about 'why', you'll love it from the very first minute. Someone may give you his/her answer 'why', but it won't be yours. They may be at a different phase of collecting/appreciation and have different goals.

Regards,
Stan

Swords smith

Dear ALL, Dear Stan

Thanks for your reply.