Buying my first

Hello, I am new to the entire sword world. Given that I know nothing and I am studying diligently. Please forgive my rudimentary terminology. I would however like an opinion.

I just came across a Shin-Gunto at a local auction, deep in the middle of Missouri. It was claimed to be from Okinawa via a US marine. I did as much web research as possible before bidding. I examined the sword and it was very rough but looked authentic based upon my limited research. No rust, but blade looked to have been steel-wooled, and had no bohi (blade groove?). The blade looked/felt like it had never been sharp. The sword and scabbard looked tired, loose and worn out over all but not missing anything except the loop at the end of the tsuka. The tsuba looked to be brass w/washers and the scabbard locking pin still worked but did not engage the scabbard. I was glad to hold one in my hands. It went for $500 US. I did not go that high for fear of condition.

My question is this. Is it safe for me to collect "authentic" swords in this condition at these prices while I am still learning. I don't want to pass up everything I see. The sword doesn't have to be perfect just authentic and at a reasonable price.

Thank you very much

$500

Hey Jeepstar!

Despite my very limited experience placing monetary values on antiques I think it's still very safe to say that $500 could have been way to much but may also have been a real steal. Blades brought back during that time can have been mass produced swords or remounted treasures mishandled by those who brought them back, unaware of the treasure they possessed.

Long story short, I doubt anyone will be able to help with your question without at the very least, a few detailed pictures. At least you still have your 500 bucks. ;)

/Ken

-

Ken
聞くは一時の恥 聞かぬは一生の恥
(Asking makes one appear foolish. Not asking makes one foolish.)

$500, response

Thanx Ken, I'll try uploading some pics if I can figure it out.

-

paul